Call Today: (860) 246-2700

Connecticut Auto Injury Lawyer Tim O’Keefe

New Distracted Driving Laws in Connecticut

On October 1, 2013, new laws will go into effect in Connecticut that look to strengthen the existing distracted driving laws.  One new law increases the fines for violating the ban on operating while using your cell phone, texting or for engaging in activity that interferes with the safe operation of the vehicle.  Beginning on October 1, the fine for a first offense will be $150.00, for a second offense the fine will be $300.00 and the fine will be $500.00 for each subsequent offense.  Another law specifically prohibits drivers from using a cell phone or testing device while their vehicle is temporarily stopped due to traffic or road conditions or while stopped for a traffic control signal.

Other Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Get Help Now